Start of main content

Announcing your Finalists

We are delighted to announce the finalists in the 2017 Celebrating Excellence Awards, and would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who nominated.

A total of 122 nominations were received highlighting worthy healthcare teams, top professionals and supporters who have been recognised for their commitment to providing excellent services in NHS Borders. The award categories reflect NHS Borders corporate objectives and values, and will celebrate individuals and teams who have worked hard to uphold these.

And your finalists (in alphabetical order) are: 

Award Category


Values Award
Sponsored by Unite the Union

Nicky Berry, Associate Director of Nursing/Head of Midwifery.

Irene Bonnar, Head of Work & Well-Being

Brenda Everitt, Personal Assistant to Director of Finance

Telephone Switchboard Team

Improving Health
Sponsored by Greenvale AP

Borders Healthy Living Network

Caring For Smiles Team

Julie Murray & Long Term Conditions Project

NHS Borders Screening Services

Innovation & Improvement
Sponsored by

Dialysis Unit

General Services Team

Susie McFadzen, Midwife

Teviot Medical Practice with Scottish Ambulance Paramedic Practitioners

Leading by Example
Sponsored by
Porters Porches & Conservatories

Dr Janet Bennison, Consultant

Irene Bonnar, Head of Work & Well-Being

Stephanie Errington, Head of Planning & Performance

Lorraine Wilson, Midwife Sonographer

Primary Care Provider
Sponsored by Agenor

Dr Gillian Arbuckle, GP

Coldstream Medical Practice

Newcastleton Health Centre

George Romanes, Community Pharmacist

Rising Star
Sponsored by Clelands Volvo

Dr Jonathan Bridges, GP

Rhona Hillis, Cancer Care Pharmacist

Sam Laurie, Communications Assistant

Barbara Smith, Project Assistant - Healthy Living Network

Clinical Excellence

Emma Allan, Advanced Neonatal Nurse Practitioner

Early Years Co-ordination and Assessment Team (EYCAT)

Alan Lawson, Learning Disability Liaison Nurse

Pregnancy Assessment Unit

Partnership Working
Sponsored by Unison

Borders Alcohol and Drugs Partnership and Executive Group

Diabetes Team

Joint Learning Disability Service

Morven Paterson & Karen Wilson, 'the difference' Fundraising Team

Supporter of the Year
Sponsored by Hogg and Thorburn

Borders Hospital Radio Service

Kathleen O'Reilly, Music Volunteer

Billy Welsh, Volunteer

Running for Ronnie Team

Behind the Scenes: Clinical

Elaine Hancock, Prescribing Support Pharmacist

Infection Control Team

Alan Lawson, Learning Disability Liaison Nurse

June Patterson, Theatre Sister

Behind the Scenes: Non Clinical
Sponsored by Five Star Taxis

Catering Team

Wilma Dunn, Domestic Assistant

Donna Wheelans, Practice Manager

Person Centred Care
Sponsored by Border Eggs

Adele Dougall, Staff Nurse

Sandra Henwood, Spiritual Care Coordinator

Katie Masterson, Physiotherapy Team Leader

John Watt, Physiotherapist

In addition, our Chairman will give his commendations before presenting ‘The Chairman’s Award’ at the ‘Celebrating Excellence’ event which will be held at Springwood Park, Kelso on Saturday 29th April 2017.

NHS Borders Chairman, John Raine said: “The Celebrating Excellence awards ceremony is an opportunity to recognise the hard work, commitment and dedication of staff and volunteers across the organisation. I look forward to welcoming the finalists, members of staff and invited guests to Springwood at the end of April.”