Borders NHS Board



NHS BORDERS BOARD COMMITTEES

Aim

To seek Board approval regarding the membership and attendance of Non Executive members on Board and other associated Committees as recommended by the Strategy & Performance Committee at its meeting held on 7 September 2017.

Background

The Code of Corporate Governance details the Board's business processes.

In line with the Code of Corporate Governance the Board must create Committees, as are required by statute, guidance, regulation and Ministerial direction and to ensure efficient and effective governance of its business.

The Code of Corporate Governance also sets out how the membership of its committees are agreed and advises that the Chair propose to the Board for approval the membership of Committees. By virtue of his/her appointment the Chair of the Board is an ex officio member of all Committees except the Audit Committee.

Any Committee, shall include at least one Non-Executive member, and may include persons, who are co-opted, and may consist wholly or partly of Directors. There are 14 ministerial appointed Directors of the Board. These are the Chairman, eight other Non Executive members and five Executive Directors.

In proposing the membership of Committees, the Chair shall have due regard to its purpose, role and remit, and accountability requirements. Certain Directors may not be appointed to serve on a particular Committee as a consequence of their positions. Specific exclusions are:

- Audit Committee Chair of the Board or any Executive Director.
- Remuneration Committee any Executive Director.

The Board shall appoint Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees to hold office for two years.

The persons appointed as Chairs of Committees shall usually be Non-Executive members and only in exceptional circumstances shall the Board appoint a Chair of a Committee who is not a Non-Executive member.

Vacancies occurring on any Committee shall be filled as soon as possible.

Summary

Detailed below are the new Non Executive member appointments to the Board made in 2017/2018:-

- Cllr David Parker appointed as the Local Authority Stakeholder Non Executive member of the Board with effect from 14.06.2017.
- Mr Malcolm Dickson appointed with effect from 01.08.2017.
- Mr Tris Taylor appointed with effect from 01.08.2017.
- Mrs Fiona Sandford appointed with effect from 01.04.2018.

Further to discussion and review of the current arrangements the following Non Executive memberships of Committees are proposed (see Appendix A):-

- Financial Performance Group (Malcolm Dickson)
- Audit Committee (Malcolm Dickson)
- Clinical Governance Committee (Malcolm Dickson)
- Staff Governance Committee (Tris Taylor and Cllr David Parker)
- Public Governance Committee (Tris Taylor and Cllr David Parker)
- Expert Advisory Group to Endowment Committee (Malcolm Dickson)
- Scottish Borders Health & Social Care Integration Joint Board (Tris Taylor)

Recommendation

The Board is asked to <u>approve</u> the membership and attendance of Non Executive members on its Board and other Committees as recommended by the Strategy & Performance Committee.

Policy/Strategy Implications	In line with the Code of Corporate Governance the Board must approve the Non Executive member membership, including the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs as appropriate, of its
	Committees.
Consultation	Non Executive members.
Consultation with Professional	None
Committees	
Risk Assessment	Committees are created as required by statute, guidance, regulation and Ministerial direction and to ensure efficient and effective governance of the Boards' business
Compliance with Board Policy	Compliant.
requirements on Equality and Diversity	
Resource/Staffing Implications	None

Approved by

Name	Designation	Name	Designation
John Raine	Chairman		

Author(s)

Name	Designation	Name	Designation
Iris Bishop	Board Secretary	John Raine	Chairman

NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2017

Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren	David Davidson	Karen Hamilton	Alison Wilson	Stephen Mather	Cllr David Parker	Malcolm Dickson	John Raine	Exec Lead & Secretariat
	Taylor	(APF)	*Vice Chair	паннион	(ACF)	Matrie	(LA)	DICKSOII	*Chair	Secretariat
GOVERNANCE										
Strategy & Performance Committee	Х	X	Х	Х	X	Х	Х	Х	С	CEO BS
Financial Performance Group (S&PC Sub Ctte)		Х	Х					Х	С	DoF DoF PA
Audit Committee			С	Х		Х		Х		DoF DoF PA
Clinical Governance Committee			Х		Х	С		Х		DoNMAS
Staff Governance Committee	Х	Co Chair		Co Chair			Х			ED ED PA
Public Governance Committee	Х	Х		С			Х			MD PIO
Remuneration Committee		Х	Х	Х		Х			С	DoW BS
Area Clinical Forum					С					ACF Chair DoP PA
PARTNERSHIP										
Area Partnership Forum		С								ED ED PA
Community Planning Partnership Strategic Board			Х						Х	SBC
Police, Fire & Rescue & Safer Communities Board			Х							SBC
OTHERS										
Endowment Committee	Х	X	Х	X	Х	X	Х	X	С	DoF DoF PA
Expert Advisory Group to Endowment Cttee		X	С	X				Х	X	DoF DoF PA
Area Drugs & Therapeutics Cttee					С					DoP DoP PA
Car Parking Appeals Panel				C						HoDS HoDS
OCCASIONAL/AS AND WHEN NECESSARY										
Discretionary Points Committee (Annual)						С				DoW MSM

NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2017

Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren (APF)	David Davidson *Vice Chair	Karen Hamilton	Alison Wilson (ACF)	Stephen Mather	Cllr David Parker (LA)	Malcolm Dickson	John Raine *Chair	Exec Lead & Secretariat
Pharmacy Practices Committee One Vacancy										MD DoP PA
Doctors, Dentist, Pharmacist and Optometry Professional Advisory Group						С				MD MD PA
Death Certification Task & Finish Group						С				Donmas Donmas Pa
Continuing Care Appeals Panel One Vacancy										DONMAS DONMAS PA
Dental Appeals Panel One Vacancy										MD MD PA
National Health Promoting Hospital Boards				Х						Scottish Government
ECR Panels						Х				MD DPH PA
TOTAL	4	8	9	9	5	9	4	6	6	

Please note the Chair of NHS Borders is an ex-officio member of all Board Committees except the Audit Committee.

Amendments highlighted in pink.

KEY

С	Chair
VC	Vice Chair
Χ	Member
CEO	Chief Executive
DoF	Director of Finance
DoNMAS	Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Acute Services
DPH	Director of Public Health
MD	Medical Director
DoW	Director of Workforce
CO H&SCI	Chief Officer Health & Social Care Integration
BS	Board Secretary
PA	Personal Assistant
PIO	Public Involvement Officer
MSM	Medical Staffing Manager
HoDS	Head of Delivery Support
DoP	Director of Pharmacy
SBC	Scottish Borders Council
ED	Employee Director

SCOTTISH BORDERS HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD AND ASSOCIATED COMMITTEES

Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren (APF)	David Davidson	Karen Hamilton	Alison Wilson (ACF)	Stephen Mather (IJB Chair 2017-18)	Cllr David Parker (LA)	Malcolm Dickson	John Raine	Exec Lead & Secretariat
Scottish Borders Health & Social Care Integration Joint Board (H&SC IJB)	XV	XNV	XV	XV	A	C - XV	(VC – XV)		XV	CO H&SCI BS
H&SC IJB Audit Committee			XV						XV	CO H&SCI IJB CFO
H&SC IJB Strategic Planning Group (Vice Chair of IJB is a member – SBC are VC 2017-18)							XV			CO H&SCI
H&SC IJB SB Cares Governance Group				Х						SBC
TOTAL	1	1	2	2	1	1	2	0	2	

Amendments highlighted in pink.

KEY

С	Chair
VC	Vice Chair
XV	Member (Voting)
XNV	Member (Non Voting)
CO H&SCI	Chief Officer Health & Social Care Integration
BS	Board Secretary
IJB CFO	Integration Joint Board Chief Financial Officer
SBC	Scottish Borders Council
Α	Attendee