Borders NHS Board



Meeting Date: 27 June 2019

Approved by:	Karen Hamilton, Interim Chair
Author:	Iris Bishop, Board Secretary

BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

Purpose of Report:

The purpose of this report is to advise the Board of changes to the membership of Board Committees.

Recommendations:

The Board is asked to <u>approve</u> the membership and attendance of Non Executive members on its Board and other Committees as recommended by the Chair.

Approval Pathways:

This report has been reviewed by the Interim Chair, Karen Hamilton.

Executive Summary:

> Public Governance Committee (Karen Hamilton withdraws from membership - Tris Taylor appointed as Chair)

Impact of item/issues on:

Strategic Context	In line with the Code of Corporate Governance the
	Board must approve the Non Executive member
	membership, including the appointment of Chairs and
	Vice Chairs as appropriate, of its Committees.
Patient Safety/Clinical Impact	None.
Staffing/Workforce	None.
Finance/Resources	None.
Risk Implications	Committees are created as required by statute,
	guidance, regulation and Ministerial direction and to
	ensure efficient and effective governance of the Boards'
	business.
Equality and Diversity	Complaint.
Consultation	Non Executives.
Glossary	

Situation

Mrs Karen Hamilton has been appointed by Scottish Ministers as Interim Chair of NHS Borders with effect from 1 April 2019.

There is therefore a vacancy in the number of Non Executive members of the Board and this has impacted on the membership of Board Committees.

Background

The Code of Corporate Governance details the Board's business processes and also sets out how the membership of its committees are agreed and advises that the Chair propose to the Board for approval the membership of Committees. By virtue of his/her appointment the Chair of the Board is an ex officio member of all Committees except the Audit Committee.

Any Committee, shall include at least one Non-Executive member, and may include persons, who are co-opted, and may consist wholly or partly of Directors. There are 14 ministerial appointed Directors of the Board. These are the Chairman, eight other Non Executive members and five Executive Directors.

In proposing the membership of Committees, the Chair shall have due regard to its purpose, role and remit, and accountability requirements. Certain Directors may not be appointed to serve on a particular Committee as a consequence of their positions. Specific exclusions are:

- Audit Committee Chair of the Board or any Executive Director.
- Remuneration Committee any Executive Director.

The Board shall appoint Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees to hold office for two years.

The persons appointed as Chairs of Committees shall usually be Non-Executive members and only in exceptional circumstances shall the Board appoint a Chair of a Committee who is not a Non-Executive member.

Vacancies occurring on any Committee shall be filled as soon as possible.

The Code of Corporate Governance also details that the Chair will nominate a Vice Chair for approval of the Board and subsequently the approval of the Cabinet Secretary.

Assessment

In order to mitigate the impact on Board Committees the following Non Executive memberships of Committees are proposed (see Appendix A):-

 Public Governance Committee (Karen Hamilton withdraws from membership -Tris Taylor appointed as Chair)

NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2019

Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren (APF)	Fiona Sandford	Karen Hamilton *Vice Chair	Alison Wilson (ACF)	Stephen Mather	Cllr David Parker (LA)	Malcolm Dickson	Vacant* Chair	Exec Lead & Secretariat
GOVERNANCE										
Strategy & Performance	X	X	X	С	Χ	Х	Х	Х		CEO
Committee One vacancy										BS
Finance & Resources			Х	Х			Х	С		DoF
Committee										BS
Audit Committee			X			X		С		DoF
One vacancy										DoF PA
Clinical		X	Х		X	С				DoNMAS
Governance Committee										CG&Q PA
One vacancy										
Staff	Х	Х					С			DoW
Governance Committee										DoW
One vacancy	_									
Public	C	Х					Х			MD
Governance Committee										CEO PA
One vacancy										
Remuneration Committee		X	Х	С		Х				DoW
One Vacancy										BS
Area Clinical Forum					С					ACF Chair DoP PA
PARTNERSHIP										-
Area Partnership Forum		С								ED
										ED PA
Community Planning				Х				Х		
Partnership Strategic										SBC
Board										
Police, Fire & Rescue &								Х		
Safer Communities Board										SBC
OTHERS				_						
Endowment Committee	X	X	Х	С	Χ	Х	Х	Х		DoF
One vacancy										DoF PA
Expert Advisory Group to		С		Х				Х		DoF
Endowment Cttee										DoF PA
One vacancy										
Area Drugs & Therapeutics					С					DoP
Cttee								-		DoP PA
Car Parking Appeals Panel				С						HoDS
0004010114140411										HoDS
OCCASIONAL/AS AND										
WHEN NECESSARY						С				DeW
Discretionary			İ			C		İ		DoW

NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2019

Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren (APF)	Fiona Sandford	Karen Hamilton *Vice Chair	Alison Wilson (ACF)	Stephen Mather	Cllr David Parker (LA)	Malcolm Dickson	Vacant* Chair	Exec Lead & Secretariat
Pharmacy Practices Committee One Vacancy				X Interim						MD DoP PA
Doctors, Dentist, Pharmacist and Optometry Professional Advisory Group						С				MD MD PA
Death Certification Task & Finish Group						С				Donmas Donmas Pa
Continuing Care Appeals Panel One Vacancy										Donmas Donmas Pa
Dental Appeals Panel						С				MD MD PA
National Health Promoting Hospital Boards				Х						Scottish Government
Whistleblowing Champion					Х					Scottish Government
ECR Panels						Х				MD DPH PA
TOTAL	4	8	6	9	6	10	5	7		

Please note the Chair of NHS Borders is an ex-officio member of all Board Committees except the Audit Committee.

Amendments highlighted in pink.

KEY

I\∟ I	
С	Chair
VC	Vice Chair
Χ	Member
CEO	Chief Executive
DoF	Director of Finance
DoNMAS	Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Acute Services
DPH	Director of Public Health
MD	Medical Director
DoW	Director of Workforce
CO H&SCI	Chief Officer Health & Social Care Integration
BS	Board Secretary
PA	Personal Assistant
PIO	Public Involvement Officer
MSM	Medical Staffing Manager
HoDS	Head of Delivery Support
DoP	Director of Pharmacy
SBC	Scottish Borders Council
ED	Employee Director
HoIM&T	Head of IM&T

SCOTTISH BORDERS HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD AND ASSOCIATED COMMITTEES

Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren (APF)	Fiona Sandford	Karen Hamilton	Alison Wilson (ACF)	Stephen Mather (IJB Chair 2017-19)	Cllr David Parker (LA) (IJB Vice Chair 2017-19)	Malcolm Dickson	Vacant	Exec Lead & Secretariat
Scottish Borders Health & Social Care Integration Joint Board (H&SC IJB)	XV	XV		XV	A	C - XV	(VC – XV)	XV		CO H&SCI BS
H&SC IJB Audit Committee				XV				XV		IJB CFO SBC
H&SC IJB Strategic Planning Group (Vice Chair of IJB, Chairs the SPG – SBC are VC 2017-18)							XV			CO H&SCI
TOTAL	1	1	0	2	1	1	2	2		

Amendments highlighted in pink.

KEY

С	Chair
VC	Vice Chair
XV	Member (Voting)
XNV	Member (Non Voting)
CO H&SCI	Chief Officer Health & Social Care Integration
BS	Board Secretary
IJB CFO	Integration Joint Board Chief Financial Officer
SBC	Scottish Borders Council
Α	Attendee