### **Borders NHS Board**



Meeting Date: 1 April 2021

Approved by:	Karen Hamilton, Chair
Author:	Iris Bishop, Board Secretary

#### **BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS**

## **Purpose of Report:**

The purpose of this report is to advise the Board of changes to the membership of Board Committees.

### **Recommendations:**

The Board is asked to formally <u>approve</u> the membership and attendance of Non Executive members on its Board and other Committees as recommended by the Chair with immediate effect.

## **Approval Pathways:**

This report has been produced for the Board.

### **Executive Summary:**

This report provides an update to the changes in Board memberships as agreed by the Board on 24 September 2020.

Mr Bill Brackenridge, Non Executive on the State Hospital Board, was co-opted to join the Board for a period of 9 months. Mr Brackenridge's appointment concludes on 1 April 2021.

Interviews for the recruitment of 2 Non Executives have been successfully completed and Mrs Harriet Campbell and Mr James Ayling will both join the Board on 5 April 2021 for 4 year terms of appointment.

The following changes to Committee memberships have been agreed by the Chair and individuals to take effect from 1 April 2021:-

Mr Tris Taylor to withdraw from the Staff Governance Committee.

Mr Tris Taylor to join the Audit Committee.

Ms Sonya Lam to withdraw as a voting member from the IJB and IJB Audit Committee. Ms Sonya Lam to join the Audit Committee.

Mrs Lucy O'Leary to join the IJB as a voting member.

Mrs Lucy O'Leary to join the IJB Audit Committee as a voting member.

Mrs Lucy O'Leary to join the Public Governance Committee.

Mr John McLaren to withdraw from the Public Governance Committee. Mr John McLaren to withdraw from the Clinical Governance Committee.

Mrs Fiona Sandford to Chair the Discretionary Points Committee.

Mrs Alison Wilson to join the Expert Advisory Group to the Endowment Committee.

From 5 April 2021:-

Mrs Harriet Campbell will join the Borders NHS Board, Resources & Performance Committee and Endowment Fund Board of Trustees.

Mr James Ayling will join the Borders NHS Board, Resources & Performance Committee and Endowment Fund Board of Trustees.

The following proposed Committee memberships will then be discussed post appointment:-

- Mrs Harriet Campbell to join the Remuneration Committee.
- Mrs Harriet Campbell to join the Staff Governance Committee.
- Mrs Harriet Campbell to join the Clinical Governance Committee.
- Mr James Ayling to join the Audit Committee.

Mr Malcolm Dickson has intimated his intention to conclude his Non Executive appointment to the Board on 31 July 2021 and in order to progress succession planning proposals it is proposed the following changes may take place at that time:-

- Mr James Ayling to take over the role of Chair of the Audit Committee.
- Mr James Ayling to take over the role of Vice Chair of the Endowment Fund Board of Trustees.
- Mr James Ayling to join the Police Fire and Rescue Safer Communities Board.
- Mrs Lucy O'Leary to take over Vice Chair of IJB and as a consequence Mrs Lucy O'Leary to Chair the Strategic Planning Group.

Attached at Annex A is the revised NHS Borders Non Executives Committee Chart.

Impact of item/issues on:						
Strategic Context	In line with the Code of Corporate Governance the Board must approve the Non Executive member membership, including the appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs as appropriate, of its Committees.					
Patient Safety/Clinical Impact	None.					
Staffing/Workforce	None.					
Finance/Resources	None.					
Risk Implications	Committees are created as required by statute, guidance, regulation and Ministerial direction and to ensure efficient and effective governance of the Boards' business.					
Equality and Diversity	Compliant.					
Consultation	Non Executives.					
Glossary	ECR – Extra Contractual Referrals					

IJB – Integration Joint Board
CPP – Community Planning Partnership

# NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2021 - 22.03.2021

Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren	Fiona Sandford	Karen Hamilton	Alison Wilson	Lucy O'Leary	Cllr David Parker	Malcolm Dickson	Sonya Lam (Whistle-	Harriet Campbell	James Ayling	Exec Lead & Secretariat
	10,101	(APF)	(Vice Chair)	Chair	(ACF)	0 200,	(LA)	2.000	blowing)		,	555,550,100
Borders NHS Board (All NEDs)	Х	Х	Х	С	Х	Х	X	Х	Х	Х	Х	CEO BS
GOVERNANCE												
Resources & Performance Committee (All NEDs)	Х	Х	X	С	Х	Х	X	Х	х	Х	Х	CEO BS
Audit Committee (4 NEDs)	Х		X					С	Х		Х	DoF DoF PA
Clinical Governance Committee (4 NEDs)			С		Х				х	Х		MD CG&Q PA
Staff Governance Committee (4 NEDs)		Х					С		х	Х		DoW HR Admin
Public Governance Committee (3 NEDs)	С					Х	X					DoSC&P DoSC&P PA
Remuneration Committee (5 NEDs) (1 Vacancy)		Х	Х	С						Х		DoW BS
Area Clinical Forum (Chair ACF)					С							ACF Chair CEO PA
PARTNERSHIP												
Area Partnership Forum (Chair APF)		С										ED ED PA
Community Planning Partnership Strategic Board (Chair & Vice Chair)			Х	х								SBC
Police, Fire & Rescue & Safer Communities Board (1 NED)								Х			Х	SBC
OTHERS												
Endowment Fund Board of Trustees (All NEDs)	Х	Х	Х	С	Х	Х	Х	VC	Х	Х	Х	DoF DoF PA
Expert Advisory Group to Endowment Cttee (4 NEDs)		С		Х	Х			Х				DoF DoF PA
Area Drugs & Therapeutics Cttee (ACF Chair)					С							DoP DoP PA
Car Park Appeals Panel (1 NED)		С										GSM GSM
Whistleblowing Champion									Х			Scottish Government

# NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2021 - 22.03.2021

Name/Cttee	Tris	John	Fiona	Karen	Alison	Lucy	Cllr David	Malcolm	Sonya Lam	Harriet	James	Exec Lead &
	Taylor	McLaren	Sandford	Hamilton	Wilson	O'Leary	Parker	Dickson	(Whistle-	Campbell	Ayling	Secretariat
		(APF)	(Vice Chair)	Chair	(ACF)		(LA)		blowing)			
OCCASIONAL/AS AND WHEN NECESSARY												
Discretionary			С									DoW
Points Committee												MSM
(Annual)												
Pharmacy				Х								MD
Practices Committee				Interim								DoP PA
Doctors, Dentist,												MD
Pharmacist and												MD PA
Optometry Professional												
Advisory Group (1												
Vacancy)												
Dental Appeals Panel												MD
(1 Vacancy)												MD PA
ECR Panels												MD
(1 Vacancy)												DPH PA
TOTAL	5	10	7	7	6	3	5	6	6			

Vacancies highlighted in green. Changes highlighted in pink.

### KEY

С	Chair	MSM	Medical Staffing Manager
VC	Vice Chair	GSM	General Services Manager
Χ	Member	DoP	Director of Pharmacy
CEO	Chief Executive	SBC	Scottish Borders Council
DoF	Director of Finance	ED	Employee Director
DoNMAS	Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Acute Services	PA	Personal Assistant
DPH	Director of Public Health	CO H&SCI	Chief Officer Health & Social Care Integration
MD	Medical Director	DoW	Director of Workforce
BS	Board Secretary		·

## NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2021 - 22.03.2021

## SCOTTISH BORDERS HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD AND ASSOCIATED COMMITTEES

Name/Cttee	Tris	John	Fiona	Karen	Alison	Lucy	Cllr David	Malcolm	Sonya	Harriet	James	Exec Lead
	Taylor	McLaren	Sandford	Hamilton	Wilson	O'Leary	Parker	Dickson	Lam	Campbell	Ayling	&
		(APF)			(ACF)		(LA)	(IJB Vice	(Whistle-			Secretariat
							(IJB Vice Chair	Chair	blowing)			
							2017-20)	2020-23)				
Scottish Borders Health &	XV	XV		xv	Α	XV	(XV)	xv				IJB CO
Social Care Integration							Chair from	Vice Chair				BS
Joint Board (H&SC IJB)							April	from April				
(5 NEDs Required)												
H&SC IJB Audit				C -XV		XV						IJB CO
Committee												BS
(2 NEDs Required)												
H&SC IJB Strategic								XV				IJB CO
Planning Group								Chair SPG				BS
(Vice Chair of IJB, Chairs								From April				
the SPG)												
TOTAL	1	1	0	2	1	0	1	2	2	0	0	

Changes highlighted in pink.

#### KEY

С	Chair
VC	Vice Chair
XV	Member (Voting)
XNV	Member (Non Voting)
BS	Board Secretary
IJB CO	Integration Joint Board Chief Officer
IJB CFO	Integration Joint Board Chief Financial Officer
SBC	Scottish Borders Council
Α	Attendee