Borders NHS Board



Meeting Date: 24 June 2021

Author: Iris Bishop, Board Secretary	

BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

Purpose of Report:

The purpose of this report is to advise the Board of changes to the membership of Board Committees.

Recommendations:

The Board is asked to formally <u>approve</u> the membership and attendance of Non Executive members on its Board and other Committees as recommended by the Chair with immediate effect.

Approval Pathways:

This report has been produced for the Board.

Executive Summary:

This report provides an update to the changes in Board memberships since those agreed on 1 April 2021.

- Mr James Ayling has joined the Remuneration Committee.
- Mr James Ayling has joined the Audit Committee.
- Mrs Harriet Campbell has joined the Remuneration Committee.
- Mrs Harriet Campbell has joined the Staff Governance Committee.
- Mrs Harriet Campbell has joined the Clinical Governance Committee.

Attached at Annex A is the revised NHS Borders Non Executives Committee Chart.

Impact of item/issues on:	
Strategic Context	In line with the Code of Corporate Governance the Board must approve the Non Executive member membership, including the appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs as appropriate, of its Committees.
Patient Safety/Clinical Impact	None.
Staffing/Workforce	None.
Finance/Resources	None.
Risk Implications	Committees are created as required by statute,

	guidance, regulation and Ministerial direction and to ensure efficient and effective governance of the Boards' business.
Equality and Diversity	Compliant.
Consultation	Non Executives.
Glossary	ECR – Extra Contractual Referrals
	IJB – Integration Joint Board
	CPP – Community Planning Partnership

NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2021 - 01.06.2021

			001111			- 01.00	.2021			-		
Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren (APF)	Fiona Sandford (Vice Chair)	Karen Hamilton Chair	Alison Wilson (ACF)	Lucy O'Leary	Cllr David Parker (LA)	Malcolm Dickson	Sonya Lam (Whistle- blowing)	Harriet Campbell	James Ayling	Exec Lead & Secretariat
Borders NHS Board (All NEDs)	х	X	X	С	X	х	X	x	X	х	х	CEO BS
GOVERNANCE												
Resources & Performance Committee (All NEDs)	х	X	X	С	Х	x	X	X	X	X	х	CEO BS
Audit Committee (4 NEDs)	Х		X					С	Х		х	DoF DoF PA
Clinical Governance Committee (4 NEDs)			С		х				x	x		MD CG&Q PA
Staff Governance Committee (4 NEDs)		х					С		x	x		DoW HR Admin
Public Governance Committee (3 NEDs)	С					х	Х					DoP&P DoP&P PA
Remuneration Committee (5 NEDs)		x	X	C						x	х	DoW BS
Area Clinical Forum (Chair ACF)					С							ACF Chair CEO PA
PARTNERSHIP												
Area Partnership Forum (Chair APF)		С										ED ED PA
Community Planning Partnership Strategic Board (Chair & Vice Chair)			x	x								SBC
Police, Fire & Rescue & Safer Communities Board (1 NED)								x			X (From July 21)	SBC
OTHERS												
Endowment Fund Board of Trustees (All NEDs)	х	х	x	С	х	х	X	VC	x	х	x	DoF DoF PA
Expert Advisory Group to Endowment Cttee (4 NEDs)		С		x	х			X				DoP&P DoP&P PA
Area Drugs & Therapeutics Cttee (ACF Chair)					С							DoP DoP PA
Car Park Appeals Panel (1 NED)		С										GSM GSM
Whistleblowing Champion									Х			Scottish Government

NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2021 - 01.06.2021

Name/Cttee	Tris	John	Fiona	Karen	Alison	Lucy	Cllr David	Malcolm	Sonya Lam	Harriet	James	Exec Lead &
	Taylor	McLaren	Sandford	Hamilton	Wilson	O'Leary	Parker	Dickson	(Whistle-	Campbell	Ayling	Secretariat
		(APF)	(Vice Chair)	Chair	(ACF)		(LA)		blowing)			
OCCASIONAL/AS AND												
WHEN NECESSARY												
Discretionary			С									DoW
Points Committee												MSM
(Annual)												
Pharmacy				Х								MD
Practices Committee				Interim								DoP PA
Doctors, Dentist,												MD
Pharmacist and												MD PA
Optometry Professional												
Advisory Group (1												
Vacancy)												
Dental Appeals Panel												MD
(1 Vacancy)												MD PA
ECR Panels												MD
(1 Vacancy)												DPH PA
TOTAL	5	8	8	6	7	4	5	6	7	6	5	

Vacancies highlighted in green.

Changes highlighted in pink.

KEY

С	Chair	MSM	Medical Staffing Manager
VC	Vice Chair	GSM	General Services Manager
Х	Member	DoP	Director of Pharmacy
CEO	Chief Executive	SBC	Scottish Borders Council
DoF	Director of Finance	ED	Employee Director
DoNMAS	Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Acute Services	PA	Personal Assistant
DPH	Director of Public Health	CO H&SCI	Chief Officer Health & Social Care Integration
MD	Medical Director	DoW	Director of Workforce
BS	Board Secretary		

NHS BORDERS NON EXECUTIVES COMMITTEE CHART 2021 - 01.06.2021

SCOTTISH BORDERS HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD AND ASSOCIATED COMMITTEES

Name/Cttee	Tris Taylor	John McLaren (APF)	Fiona Sandford	Karen Hamilton	Alison Wilson (ACF)	Lucy O'Leary	Cllr David Parker (LA) (IJB Vice Chair 2017-20)	Malcolm Dickson (IJB Vice Chair 2020-23)	Sonya Lam (Whistle- blowing)	Harriet Campbell	James Ayling	Exec Lead & Secretariat
Scottish Borders Health &	XV	XV		XV	Α	XV	(XV)	XV				IJB CO
Social Care Integration						(Vice Chair	Chair from	Vice Chair				BS
Joint Board (H&SC IJB)						from July	April	from April				
(5 NEDs Required)						21)						
H&SC IJB Audit				C -XV		XV						IJB CO
Committee												BS
(2 NEDs Required)												
H&SC IJB Strategic						(Chair		XV				IJB CO
Planning Group						from July		Chair SPG				PA
(Vice Chair of IJB, Chairs						21)		From April				
the SPG)												
TOTAL	1	1	0	2	1	2	1	2	0	0	0	

Changes highlighted in pink.

KEY

С	Chair
VC	Vice Chair
XV	Member (Voting)
XNV	Member (Non Voting)
BS	Board Secretary
IJB CO	Integration Joint Board Chief Officer
IJB CFO	Integration Joint Board Chief Financial Officer
SBC	Scottish Borders Council
А	Attendee